Company Profile

Schweizer Privacy Law is a Zurich company specialising in data protection, information technology and internet law. We use our core areas of expertise to provide legal support and protection in the planning, implementation and management of complex operational and analytical CRM systems. These include online transaction processing systems, data warehousing systems and the application of data mining and OLAP analysis tools.

We help companies to make both their internal processes and external partner networks (such as supply chains) data protection compliant. We make industry-specific recommendations on legal requirements affecting the planning of customer loyalty programmes, outsourcing, setting up call centres and customer interaction centres, and the provision of automated marketing, sales, and services. We also develop and present technical, organisational and legal measures companies should undertake to protect themselves legally and reduce their liability risk.

Schweizer Privacy Law advises corporations, SMEs and public authorities in Switzerland and abroad on all legal questions about Swiss and European data protection law, regardless of industry. We also accept in particular mandates to serve as external data protection officers (solely in Switzerland). In addition to our areas of specialisation, we also offer consultation and services in business and trade law.
 
Managing Director

The owner of Schweizer Privacy Law, Dr. iur. Alex Schweizer, LL.M., studied law in Switzerland and graduated with emphasis on information technology law. In Sydney and Melbourne, Australia, he later undertook an extensive postgraduate study of international business transactions, international public law, international financial law, corporate law, comparative legal traditions, Australian and American law and international privacy conflicts.  There he earned a Master of Laws (LL.M.) in international law.

Schweizer deals mainly with analytical and operational information systems, artificial intelligence, security and surveillance technologies including biometric procedures and their legal implications for society and the individual citizen.

In his spare time, he writes regularly. Among other works, he is author of the books "Data Mining, Data Warehousing - Privacy Guidelines for Private Companies" (Orell Füssli, 1999, 416 pages) and "Customer Relationship Management - CRM Violations of Privacy Laws" (Weblaw/Schulthess, 2006, 509 pages).

Professionally, in addition to his various previous legal activities, Schweizer has also served as data protection officer for a major insurance company charged with advising its executives, various departments and affiliate companies primarily in the areas of data protection, computer science and business law. Since 2009, he is owner of Schweizer Privacy Law and advises companies and government agencies on data protection, IT and general business legal matters. 

Cooperative Partners

For legal issues outside the specialisation of Schweizer Privacy Law as well as for larger projects, we work with the law firm Martina Arioli (http://www.arioli-law.ch/) and other cooperative partners, however, we remain separate legal entities.  
 

 

 

 


Postadresse (Postal address)
Schweizer Privacy Law
Balsberg
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen
Schweiz
Telefon: +41 (0)76 457 70 90
E-Mail:

Besucheradresse (Visiting address)
Business Center Balsberg
Balz Zimmermann-Strasse 7
CH-8302 Kloten
Schweiz

Firmenprofil

Schweizer Privacy Law ist eine im Datenschutz-, Informatik- und Internetrecht spezialisierte Firma in Zürich. Eine besondere Spezialität und Kernkompetenz ist die rechtliche Planung und Absicherung bei der Planung, Implementation und beim Betrieb von komplexen operativen und analytischen CRM-Systemen. Dazu gehören unter anderem Online Transaction Processing Systeme, Data-Warehouse-Systemlandschaften sowie die Anwendung von Data-Mining- und OLAP-Analysetools.  

Wir helfen Unternehmen, ihre betriebsinernen Bearbeitungsprozesse und geschäftsübergreifenden Partnernetzwerke (wie Supply Chains) datenschutzkonform zu gestalten. Bei der Planung von Kundenbindungsprogrammen, beim Outsourcing, bei der Realisierung von Call Centers und Customer Interaction Centers, bei der Marketing-, Sales- und Service-Automation und vielem mehr zeigen wir branchenspezifisch auf, welche rechtlichen Grundlagen zu berücksichtigen sind. Wir erarbeiten und präsentieren zudem technische, organisatorische und rechtliche Massnahmen, mit denen sich Unternehmen rechtlich absichern und ihr Haftungsrisiko reduzieren können.

Schweizer Privacy Law berät branchenunabhängig sowohl nationale als auch internationale Konzerne, KMUs und öffentliche Verwaltungen in allen Rechtsfragen des schweizerischen und europäischen Datenschutzrechts. Wir übernehmen insbesondere auch Mandate als externer betrieblicher Datenschutzbeauftragter (nur in der Schweiz). Neben unseren Spezialbereichen bieten wir auch Beratungen und Dienstleistungen im Wirtschafts- und Handelsrecht an.

Geschäftsleitung

Der Geschäftsinhaber von Schweizer Privacy Law, Dr. iur. Alex Schweizer, LL.M., studierte in der Schweiz Rechtswissenschaften und schloss sein Studium mit Schwerpunkt Recht und Informatik ab. In Sydney und in Melbourne befasste er sich später im Rahmen eines weiterführenden Nachdiplomstudiums mit International Business Transactions, International Public Law, International Financial Law, Corporate Law, Comparative Legal Traditions, Australian Law, American Law und International Privacy Conflicts. Dort erwarb er anschliessend auch einen Master of Laws (LL.M.) in Internationalem Recht.

Schweizer befasst sich vorzugsweise mit den rechtlichen Auswirkungen von analytischen und operativen Informationssystemen, künstlicher Intelligenz, Sicherheits- und Überwachungstechnologien wie auch biometrischen Verfahren auf die Gesellschaft und den einzelnen Bürger.

In seiner Freizeit schreibt er regelmässig. Er ist u. a. Autor der Bücher "Data Mining, Data Warehousing — Datenschutzrechtliche Orientierungshilfen für Privatunternehmen" (Orell Füssli, 1999, 416 Seiten) und "Customer Relationship Management — Datenschutz- und Privatrechtsverletzungen beim CRM" (Weblaw/Schulthess, 2006, 509 Seiten).

Beruflich war Schweizer nach verschiedenen vorangehenden  juristischen Tätigkeiten u. a. Datenschutzbeauftragter eines grossen Versicherungskonzerns und beriet in dieser Funktion die Konzernleitung, verschiedene Abteilungen und Unternehmen vorwiegend im Bereich des Datenschutz-, Informatik- und Wirtschaftsrechts. Seit 2009 ist er Geschäftsinhaber von Schweizer Privacy Law und berät unabhängig Unternehmen und öffentliche Verwaltungen im Bereich des Datenschutz-, Informatik- und Wirtschaftsrechts.

Kooperationspartner

Bei speziellen Rechtsfragen, die nicht den Spezialbereich von Schweizer Privacy Law betreffen oder bei grösseren Aufträgen kooperieren wir bei Bedarf mit der Anwaltskanzlei Martina Arioli (http://www.arioli-law.ch/) in Zürich und anderen Kooperations-partnern, die jedoch rechtlich selbstständig bleiben.

 

 

 

 


Postadresse (Postal address)
Schweizer Privacy Law
Balsberg
CH-8058 Zürich-Flughafen
Schweiz
Telefon: +41 (0)76 457 70 90
E-Mail:

Besucheradresse (Visiting address)
Business Center Balsberg
Balz Zimmermann-Strasse 7
CH-8302 Kloten
Schweiz